The Beauty of Eating Alone at a Restaurant

Dear Reader, I am at Bentota…the last leg of my 6 day long Sri Lanka trip. I am travelling solo but believe you me, I haven’t had a proper meal alone at a restaurant in all these days.

Is it a good thing or bad? I would say it’s both. I always love sharing my meals. But at the same time, tonight as I sit to have my dinner (at my preferred time of 7pm), I am just so happy!

Eating alone has so many advantages. To start with, you don’t have to think twice before ordering any dish or beverage. Because it’s just you and you order whatever you want. Secondly, you get time to talk to the restaurant staff or note down your thoughts or read a book, sketch, whatever while you wait. Thirdly, somehow I feel that the restaurant staff is extra nice to female solo eaters (just a personal experience). Fourthly, no arguments on who pays the bill, do we split or we don’t. Next, you can actually listen to the music playing in the background. And some places are absolutely brilliant with their playlists (like the one where I am right now). Finally, you get to eat at your own pace and in peace. No more thinking about starting and finishing with everyone else.

To sum it up, I enjoy having a meal by myself at some place nice every now and then, especially when I travel. Perhaps, even if we’re travelling together, taking an evening off and doing our own thing, eating alone shouldn’t be such a problem.

And now, by the time I finish this blog post, I have my ginger ale to relish and the food is only minutes away.

Bon appetit!



6 responses to “The Beauty of Eating Alone at a Restaurant”

  1. This is indeed a brilliant idea.. I had experienced it just a week ago and trust me it was so much peace and I could actually relish the food ..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So glad to know this, payal. Cheers!

      Like

  2. Sounds great ! The pictures look awesome too. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I usually love to eat alone in restaurants and trust me , I have experienced all the perks mentioned by you in this brilliant write up of yours .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So glad to know to know this, Pradeep!

      Like

Leave a comment