Best Women-centric Songs I’ve Ever Heard – Part II

After listing Hindi Songs in my last post, its time to please those who have a taste in English songs! There are a plethora of English songs that celebrate womanhood and hence, it was very difficult for me to shortlist just 10! Here they go…

1. Dark Horse (2013)

“Are you ready for, ready for
A perfect storm, a perfect storm
‘Cause once you’re mine, once you’re mine
There’s no going back”

Artist: Katy Perry

Album: Prism

2. Girl on Fire (2012)

“Looks like a girl, but she’s a flame
So bright, she can burn your eyes
Better look the other way”

Artist: Alicia Keys

Album: Girl on Fire

3. Spirit Indestructible (2012)

“I have a spirit indestructible
A heart that loving was made for
A body that’s a miracle”

Artist – Nelly Furtado

Album – Spirit Indestructible

4. A woman’s Worth (2010)

“‘Cuz a real man knows a real woman when he sees her
And a real woman knows a real man ain’t afraid to please her
And a real woman knows a real man always come first
And a real man just can’t deny a woman’s worth”

Artist: Alicia Keys

Album: Remixed & Unplugged in A minor

5. Miss Independent (2008)

“Ooh there’s somethin’ about
Kinda woman that can do for herself
I look at her and it makes me proud
There’s somethin’ about her”

Artist: Ne-Yo, Shaffer Smith

Album: Year of the Gentleman

6. Upside Down (2007)

“It feels sometimes this hills to steep
For a girl like me to climb
But I must knock those thoughts right down
I’ll do it in my own time”

Artist: Paloma Faith

Album:Do You Want the Truth or Something Beautiful?

7. Maneater (2006)

“And when she walks, she walks with passion
When she talks, she talks like she can handle it
When she asks for something, boy, she means it
Even if you never ever see it”

Artist – Nelly Furtado

Album – Loose

8. Livin’la Vida Loca (1999)

“She’ll make you take your clothes off
And go dancing in the rain
She’ll make you live her crazy life
But she’ll take away your pain
Like a bullet to your brain”

Artist: Ricky Martin

Album: Ricky Martin

9. She (1999)

“She who always seems so happy in a crowd
Whose eyes can be so private and so proud
No one’s allowed to see them when they cry
She may be the love that cannot hope to last
May come to me from shadows of the past
But I’ll remember till the day I die”

Artist: Elvis Costello (Cover)

Movie : Notting Hill

10. She’s Always a Woman to Me (1977)

“Ohhh… she takes care of herself
She can wait if she wants, she’s ahead of her time
Ohhh… and she never gives out
And she never gives in, she just changes her mind”

Artist: Billy Joel

Album: The Stranger

Which are you favourite women-centric songs?  Do leave a comment if you enjoyed listening to any of these songs.



One response to “Best Women-centric Songs I’ve Ever Heard – Part II”

  1. […] Check out the list of English songs celebrating womanhood in my next post ‘Best Women-centric Songs I’ve Ever Heard – Part II‘ […]

    Like

Leave a comment